Alumni Awards 2015: Allan Kittleman ’81, Political Science

In the weeks leading up to the Alumni Awards Ceremony, we’ll be profiling each of this year’s honorees in detail here on the blog. Our last winner, in the Distinguished Service category, is Howard County Executive and former Maryland State Senator Allan Kittleman ’81, political science.

KittlemanAllan Kittleman was elected Howard County Executive in 2014. Prior to that, he had served as Minority Leader in the Maryland State Senate, on the Howard County Council, and as an attorney on workers’ compensation cases. He grew up in Howard County, working on his family’s farm in West Friendship and commuting to UMBC to earn his political science degree. After graduating, he received a J.D. from the University of Maryland Carey School of Law. His father Bob Kittleman served in the State Senate from 1982 until his death in 2004. Allan was appointed to succeed him that year, and won election in his own right in 2006 and 2010, becoming minority leader in 2008. He stepped down after publicly expressing his support for marriage equality, and ran for Howard County Executive in the 2014 election cycle.

The Alumni Awards Ceremony is tomorrow, October 8. There’s still time to register!

Congratulations to Our 2015 Alumni Award Winners!

12662632914_2f93612cac_zEach year, the UMBC Alumni Association celebrates those people who have made outstanding contributions to the University, their fields, and their communities. This year, we extend that honor to the following distinguished alumni and faculty:

Engineering and Information Technology:
Andre Gudger ’99, Information Systems
Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense, Manufacturing, and Industrial Base Policy, U.S. Department of Defense

Natural and Mathematical Sciences:
Dr. Yoon-Ho Kim ’01 Ph.D., Applied Physics
Professor, Pohang University of Science and Technology

Social and Behavioral Sciences:
Bryan Kelly ’92, Economics
Co-Founder and Managing Partner, The Kelly Group

Visual and Performing Arts:
Dr. Lisa Urkevich ’86, Music
Professor and Chair of Music and Drama, American University of Kuwait

Distinguished Service:
The Honorable Allan Kittleman ’81, Political Science
County Executive, Howard County Government

Rising Star:
Nicole DeBlase, ’06, Financial Economics
Executive Director, Equity Research, Morgan Stanley

Outstanding Faculty:
Dr. Tara Carpenter, Senior Lecturer, Chemistry and Biochemistry
College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Join us as we celebrate at the Alumni Awards Ceremony on Thursday, October 8!

Learn more about our past award winners.

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

Past UMBC Alumni Award Winners

UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame